In 2000, the TIAFT Executive Board announced the institution of the TIAFT Achievement Award.
This Award recognizes scientists for outstanding achievements in forensic toxicology through their scientific activities and outputs.

Award 2024

All members are invited to nominate candidates for the TIAFT achievement award, by sending a nomination form (.docx format) to the immediate past-president Marc LeBeau ( by deadline (TBA).

Eligible Persons
The recipient should be a TIAFT member under 46 years of age by December 31st of the year that the award is given and have been an active member of the Association.

A call for nominations is published in the TIAFT Bulletin and the different online platforms of TIAFT, generally in the spring, 5 to 6 months prior to the TIAFT Annual Meeting.

The completed nomination form (.docx format) should be submitted to the chairperson of the TIAFT Achievement Award Committee. All nominations are treated confidentially.

Submissions must be received two months before the annual meeting, or by the specified deadline.

At least 3 nominations must be received before evaluating the nominees. If fewer than 3 nominations are received, the Committee can add nominees.

By the end of the evaluation process, the Committee will make a recommendation to the Executive Board. If the Board does not endorse the recommendation, the Committee will submit another name for consideration.

Evaluation Criteria
The most important criterion is the scientific track record of the candidate in the field of forensic toxicology. This includes number and merit of publications, scientific presentations at national and international conferences, including the annual TIAFT meeting. Impact factors of journals and the Hirsch Index are other useful criteria for evaluation.
The award consists of a memento engraved with the name of the award and the awardee's name and a certificate signed by the awards chairperson.
Award Committee
The Committee is chaired by the immediate past president of TIAFT. He or she is required to appoint a Committee of at least five persons (including the Chairperson) to assist in the selection of the awardee. At least four continents must be represented; members individually should be known for their strong scientific achievements in forensic toxicology.

Previous awardees:

  • 2023 - Francesco Busardò, Italy
  • 2022 - Andrea E. Steuer, Switzerland
  • 2021 - José Luiz Costa, Brazil
  • 2019 - Luca Morini, Italy
  • 2018 - Marta Concheiro, Spain/USA
  • 2017 - Sarah Wille, Belgium
  • 2016 - Helena Teixeira, Portugal
  • 2015 - Markus R. Meyer, Germany
  • 2014 - Sooyeun Lee, South Korea
  • 2013 - Volker Auwärter, Germany
  • 2012 - Dimitri Gerostamoulos, Australia
  • 2011 - Frank Peters, Germany
  • 2010 - Simona Pichini, Italy
  • 2009 - Robert Kronstrand, Sweden
  • 2008 - Aldo Polettini, Italy
  • 2007 - Yasuo Seto, Japan
  • 2006 - Ilkka Ojanperä, Finland
  • 2005 - Frank Musshoff, Bonn, Germany
  • 2004 - Bruce Goldberger, Jacksonville, FL, USA
  • 2003 - Barry Logan, Seattle, WA, USA
  • 2002 - Alain Verstraete, Ghent, Belgium
  • 2001 - Pascal Kintz, Strasbourg, France