At the annual meeting, the Young Scientists Committee of TIAFT presents the awards for best oral and poster presentations, and the best paper published, by a Young Scientist.

Award 2024

The TIAFT Young Scientist Awards will be announced at the upcoming 61st TIAFT Annual Meeting held in St. Gallen from September 2-6, 2024. This meeting will feature the regular Best Published Paper, Oral, and Poster Awards.

To apply, please submit the following to TIAFT Young Scientists Committee (YSC) Chair (Luke Rodda, and Secretary (Elea Lendoiro, no later than Friday, August 2 (11:59pm PDT).

Best Published Paper Award
  • Name of Young Scientist, affiliation, and email
  • The published scientific article (PDF)

  • Note, must be published within in the period of one month before the last TIAFT meeting and before the current meeting’s YS Award deadline submission (i.e., July 27, 2023 to August 2, 2024). E-published is acceptable if available to the scientific community within these dates.

Best Poster Award
  • Name of Young Scientist, affiliation, and email
  • Your St. Gallen 2024 Abstract Oxford Submission ID Number (e.g., a 2-3 digit number)

  • The accepted abstract

  • Note, both flash and regular posters will be equally considered for Best Poster Award.

Best Oral Award
  • Name of Young Scientist, affiliation, and email
  • Your St. Gallen 2024 Abstract Oxford Submission ID Number (e.g., a 2-3 digit number)

  • The accepted abstract

Could you please also include an image of yourself please, preferably of good quality, as in the event you are awarded one of these prizes, that image will be used for communication purposes (eg Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn etc).
Eligible Persons
  • The candidate must be the first author of the oral/poster abstract or the scientific paper;
  • The candidate, or one of his/her co-authors, must be a TIAFT member;
  • The candidate must not be a member of the TIAFT YSC;
  • Candidates working in the same organization as a TIAFT YSC member are eligible;
  • For the oral/poster abstract, the candidate must not be older than 40 years on the last day of the TIAFT meeting;
  • For the best scientific paper, the candidate must not be older than 40 years on the 1st Jan of the corresponding year, and the article must have been published in the period of one month before the last TIAFT meeting until the deadline for the entries of the current TIAFT meeting, with the condition that the paper needs to be at least e-published and available to the scientific community;
  • Only one entry is allowed per applicant. The applicant must choose either a poster, oral, or published paper for consideration. Only one choice is allowed, in order for the awards to be shared amongst all qualified young scientists;
  • Oral, poster, or paper presentations that include a member of the TIAFT YSC as a co-author may still be submitted for consideration of an award; however, the co-author that is a TIAFT YSC member will be excluded from judging that entry;
  • The candidate must submit his/her abstract or manuscript to the YSC at least one month prior to the commencement of the annual TIAFT meeting;
  • The candidate must not be a TIAFT YSC award recipient from a previous year.

Abstracts for oral presentations, poster presentations or papers must be submitted to the TIAFT YSC President and Secretary by e-mail.

All submissions must be received by the TIAFT YSC one month prior to the commencement of the TIAFT Annual Meeting, but we suggest submitting your abstract to the YSC as soon as you know it has been accepted and the call for nominations open. Late entries will not be accepted.

The abstract submitted to the TIAFT YSC must not differ from the abstract accepted for the meeting or it will be subject to disqualification.

The YSC will consider a total of 15 candidates for oral presentations per year, 15 candidates for poster presentations per year, and all papers submitted (no maximum). If more abstracts are submitted than the limit in place, the YSC will review them and evaluate scientific content (5 points), impact of the work on the field of forensic toxicology (3 points) and clarity (2 points) to retain the 15 abstracts with the highest scores.

Evaluation Criteria

More detailed award assessment criteria and evaluation procedures are available in the “Requirements and Guidelines for the TIAFT Young Scientists Awards”.

Oral and poster presentations are evaluated on following criteria:

  • Knowledge of the subject material;
  • Structure of the presentation or poster;
  • Use of audio/visual material;
  • Delivery (including pace and timing);
  • Ability to answer questions.

Best published paper is evaluated on following criteria:

  • Scientific content;
  • Structure of the paper.
The winners of the Young Scientists Best Oral Presentation, Best Poster Presentation and Best Paper will be announced at the end of the TIAFT Annual Meeting.


The award consists of a signed certificate.

Award Committee
The Young Scientists Committee members evaluate the oral presentations, poster presentations, and papers.

Previous awardees:

Year Best Paper Best Oral Best Poster
2023 Mingyu Kim, Republic of Korea Andre Luis Fabris, Brazil Laura Franke, Germany
2022 Marthe Vandeputte, Belgium Tom Dario Schneider, Switzerland Giacomo Musile, Italy
2021 Lana Brockbals, Switzerland Liesl Janssens, Belgium Maarten Quireyns, Belgium
2020 Tanja Gampfer, Germany Stefania Oliverio, Luxembourg Olwen Groth, Germany
2019 Nadine Schäfer, Germany Jingya (Jinni) Yan, Australia Kathleen Rice, United Kingdom
2018 Marco Elmiger, Switzerland Shimpei Watanabe, Sweden Lilian Richter, Germany
2017 Annelies Cannaert, Belgium Lukas Mogler, Germany Alice Seywright, United Kingdom
2016 Florian Franz, Germany Svante Vikingsson, Sweden Laura M. Huppertz, Germany
2015 Michael Poetzsch, Switzerland Brigitte Desharnais, Canada Verena Angerer, Germany
2014 Luke N. Rodda, Australia Eva Cuypers, Belgium Noriaki Shima, Japan
2013 Ji-Hyun Kim, Korea Milena Madry, Switzerland Ariane Wohlfarth, United States
2012 Andrea E. Schwaninger, Germany & Melanie Hutter, Germany (Springer Award) Lars Ambach, Switzerland Not awarded
2011 Daniela Remane, Germany Eva Saar, Australia Bjoern Moosmann, Germany
2010 Rafael Linden, Brazil Dirk K. Wissenbach, Germany Simon Beuck, Germany
2009 Sophie Turfus, United Kingdom Yuko Iwata, Japan Alina Staub, Switzerland & Jennifer Pascali, Italy (Springer Award)
2008 Ahmed I. Al-Asmari, United Kingdom Markus R. Meyer, Germany Ricardo J. Dinis-Oliveira, Portugal
2007 Uta Kuepper, Germany Andreas Ewald, Germany Jurgen Kempf, Germany
2006 Donata Favretto, Italy Gudrun Høiseth, Norway Julia Jung, Germany
2005 Teemu Gunnar, Finland Dennis Theobald, Germany Vilma Habrdova, Czech Republic
2004 Michelle Wood, United Kingdom Jochen Beyer, Germany Eugene Schwilke, United States
2003 Frank T. Peters, Germany Adam Cawley, Australia Emmie Ho, China
2002 Thomas Stimpfl, Austria Carsten Kratzsch, Germany Simon Elliott, United Kingdom
2001 Nele Samyn, Belgium Roland Staack, Germany Not awarded
2000 Robert Kronstrand, Sweden Riet Dams, Belgium Liliana Bachs, Norway & Kristel Girod, Switzerland
1999 Akira Ishii, Japan Inge Dirinck, Belgium Ingrid Bosman, Netherlands