This award was instituted in 2010 to honour the contributor of the best article published in the TIAFT Bulletin over the last year. With this award, TIAFT aims to encourage its membership to contribute to and enrich this publication. TIAFT members are encouraged to submit articles to

Award 2024

All eligible papers published in the TIAFT Bulletin since the previous Annual Meeting will automatically be considered for this award.

Eligible Persons
TIAFT members who have submitted an article for the Bulletin in the last year are eligible for this award.
The author, or one of his/her co-authors, must be a TIAFT member. The paper must not have been published elsewhere, nor infringe copyright of already published material.
The Bulletin Editors serve as the nominating committee for this award. Articles published in the Bulletin over the course of the last year satisfying the eligibility criteria are automatically considered for this award. The Bulletin Editors make a shortlist of the 3 best articles (one per issue, excluding the special issue) and submit it to the TIAFT Executive Board.
Evaluation criteria
Papers are judged on their (scientific) content and on the importance and impact of the published article for the TIAFT membership.
The winner of the award will be announced at the end of the TIAFT Annual Meeting.
Award Committee
The recipients of this award are chosen from amongst the shortlist by the TIAFT Executive Board.

Previous awardees

  • 2023 - Karsten Stemmerich, Germany (Deuterated Drugs: Weighty Times Ahead for the Lab?)
  • 2022 - Lisa Delahaye, Belgium (The added-value of paracetamol-protein adduct determinations in clinical and forensic toxicology)
  • 2021 - Erin Karschner, USA (Delta Dawn: The rise of Δ-8-THC in the United States)
  • 2020 - Henrik Druid, Sweden (Forensic Casework and life in general in the COVID-19 pandemic)
  • 2019 - Brigitte Desharnais, Canada (Statistics Primer for the Modern Forensic Toxicologist)
  • 2018 - Wayne Jones, Sweden (Profiles in Forensic Toxicology: Professor Kurt M. Dubowski (1921-2017))
  • 2017 - Natalie Kummer (Alternative Sampling Strategies to Monitor Alcohol Consumption in Case of Driver's Licence Regranting)
  • 2016 - Ashley Barrett (A review of drug testing in oral fluid)
  • 2015 - Jenny Button, United Kingdom (New Psychoactive Substances: The Benzodiazepine Boom)
  • 2014 - Wayne Jones, Sweden (CNS Depressants)
  • 2013 - Federica Bortolotti & Franco Tagliaro,, Italy (Carbohydrate Deficient Transferrin, a Reliable Marker of Chronic Alcohol Abuse in Both Forensic and Clinical Settings)
  • 2012 - Julia Ammann (Detection of Synthetic Cannabinoids in Biological Samples)
  • 2011 - Madeline Montgomery, United States, (Ricinine Analysis in Urine as a Potential Biomarker for Ricin Exposure)
  • 2011 - Stefan Kneisel (Cannabimimetics: Mass Spectra and IRATR Spectra and New Compounds from the Years 2009 and 2010)
  • 2010 - Gisela Skopp, Germany (Artifacts are an Inherent Part of Postmortem Toxicology)