Alan Curry was one of the most outstanding forensic toxicologists I have ever known. By his own and his co-workers scientific publications, the UK contributions to the development of toxicology were of paramountworldwide importance. The article "Chemistry and Crime" in Chemistry in Britain 1969 by AS Curry was at the origin of my personal decision to become a forensic toxicologist. A decision that I never regretted.
Robert Wennig,
Past TIAFT President

If you wish to know more about Alan Curry's life and legend, please download:
Alan Curry, the scientist, the leader, the communicator (2.5 Mbytes .pdf document).


The Alan Curry Award is the most prestigious award of The International Association of Forensic Toxicologists.

Eligible persons

TIAFT members who have a long history of distinguished contributions to the field of forensic toxicology and to the TIAFT organization.


A call for nominations is published in the TIAFT bulletin and it closes two months before of the annual meeting.
All members can nominate persons for the Alan Curry award by completing this form (Word doc) and sending it to the President.
The Executive Board votes for the winner.
The Board announces the winner of the Award at the TIAFT Annual Meeting.


The award consists of a memento engraved with the name of the award and the awardee's name and a diploma.

Previous awardees

  • 2018 - Alain Verstraete, Belgium
  • 2017 - Bryan Finkle, USA
  • 2016 - Olaf Drummer, Australia
  • 2015 - Pascal Kintz, France
  • 2014 - Willy Lambert, Belgium
  • 2013 - Anthony Moffatt, UK
  • 2012 - Erkki Vuori, Finland
  • 2011 - Wayne Jones, Sweden
  • 2010 - Marilyn Huestis, USA
  • 2009 - Vina Spiehler, USA
  • 2008 - Osamu Suzuki, Japan
  • 2007 - Fritz Pragst, Germany
  • 2006 - Ed Cone, USA
  • 2005 - Robert Wennig, Luxembourg
  • 2004 - Klaus Müller, Germany
  • 2003 - Hans Maurer, Germany
  • 2002 - Brian Widdop, UK
  • 2000 - Gottfried Machata, Austria
  • 1999 - Manfred Möller, Germany
  • 1997 - Rokus A. de Zeeuw, The Netherlands
  • 1995 - Irving Sunshine, USA
  • 1994 - Takeaki Nagata, Japan
  • 1993 - Neville Dunnett, UK