TIAFT was founded in London on April 21, 1963. The founding meeting elected Dr. E.C.G. Clarke (UK) as President, Dr. Alan S. Curry (UK) as Secretary, Dr. Ian Holden (UK) as Treasurer and Dr. Fred Rieders (USA) as Newsletter Editor. The first newsletter was edited in November 1963 by Rieders, and from the very beginning it bore the name "Bulletin of the International Association of Forensic Toxicologists". It was a 3-page A4 size blue spirit duplicated leaflet which contained four case notes. The analytical methods relied much on TLC, spectrophotometry and spot tests. The first note was by L.W. Bradford (USA) giving advice on how to calibrate UV spectro-photometers with mercury vapour.
Nowadays, TIAFT comprises about 2000 members from all regions of the world who are actively engaged in analytical toxicology or allied areas. The aims of this association are to promote cooperation and coordination of efforts among members and to encourage research in forensic toxicology.
TIAFT members come from the police force, medical examiners and coroners' laboratories, horseracing and sports doping laboratories, hospitals, departments of legal medicine, pharmacology, pharmacy and toxicology.

The TIAFT Executive Committee for 2014-2017 is:

TIAFT President

Chung, Hee-Sun, Ph.D

Chungnam National University
99, Daehangno, Yuseong-gu,
Daejeon 305-764 - Republic of KOREA

TIAFT President Elect

Marc LeBeau, PhD

Federal Bureau of Investigation, FBI Laboratory
2501 Investigation Parkway
Quantico, Virginia 22135, USA

TIAFT Past President

Alain G. Verstraete, MD

Laboratory of clinical Biology-Toxicology
Ghent University Hospital
De Pintelaan 185 - B-9000 Gent, Belgium

TIAFT Secretary

Daniel S. Isenschmid, PhD, DABFT

NMS Labs
3701 Welsh Road
Willow Grove, PA 19090, USA

TIAFT Treasurer

Robert Kronstrand, PhD

National Board of Forensic Medicine
Department of Forensic Toxicology
University of Linkoping, Linkoping (Sweden)

TIAFT Board Members

Dimitri Gerostamoulos, PhD

Victorian Institute of Forensic Medicine
57-83 Kavanagh St
Southbank 3006, Victoria, AUSTRALIA.

Carmen Jurado, PhD

National Institute of Toxicology and Forensic Sciences
Chemistry Department
University of Sevilla, Sevilla (Spain)

Univ.-Professor Dr. Dr. h.c. Hans H. Maurer

Head, Department of Experimental and Clinical Toxicology
Institute of Experimental and Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology
Saarland University, D-66421 Homburg/Saar (Germany)