The International Association of Forensic Toxicologists

TIAFT Alan Curry Award



The International Association of Forensic Toxicologists
Established 1963

CONTENTS

TIAFT Alan Curry Award	3
Introduction - Dr. Alan Stewart Curry (1925–2007)	3
Eligibility	4
Nominations	4
Award	4
Previous awardees	6
TIAET Alan Curry Award - Nomination form	7

TIAFT ALAN CURRY AWARD

The Alan Curry Award is the most prestigious award of The International Association of Forensic Toxicologists. The award is named after Alan Stewart Curry and is bestowed upon toxicologists (TIAFT members) who have made significant contributions to forensic toxicology and are considered to be leading scientists in our discipline.

INTRODUCTION - DR. ALAN STEWART CURRY (1925-2007)



The original TIAFT Board - Back Row: M Mason, R B Furney Sr., R J Abernathy, Harry Leach, Michael Moss. Front Row: I Sunshine, B Finkle, J V Jackson, Alan Curry

Taken on the steps of School of Pharmacy, Bloomsbury, London, April 1963. Kindly supplied by Brian Finkle.

Reproduced from the TIAFT Volume XXXVIII Number 1, 2008.

Obituary from George Walker, BSc C Chem FRSC MEWI

Alan Curry died on 20 August 2007. He will he remembered by older members as the driving force behind the formation in 1963 of TIAFT. He served as its secretary until 1969 and then as president until 1975. Alan was born in Blackpool, UK on 31 October 1925 and was educated at Arnold School and Trinity College, Cambridge. This latter education was interrupted by a period of National Service in the Royal Air Force. He was appointed with the rank of Flight Lieutenant (Wireless). His experience in the RAF resulted in him becoming a radio ham, a hobby for the rest of his life. On leaving Trinity in 1952 he joined the Home Office Forensic Science Service at its Wakefield laboratory. When that closed he continued at the Harrogate laboratory. There he steadily built his reputation in toxicology and was involved in the first successful prosecution of murder by insulin. His text book 'Poison Detection in Human Organs', a first 'hands on' book for many years, ran to five editions. Whilst at Harrogate he helped found the Forensic Science Society and the International Association of Forensic Toxicologists.

He became director of the Nottingham laboratory in 1964 and whilst there, together with George Walker and Geoff Simpson, devised the method to accurately determine alcohol in small volumes of

TIAFT Alan Curry Award Handbook DATE EFFECTIVE: December 18, 2021 NEXT REVIEW DATE: December 2024

Version 2

blood, which allowed the 1967 drink driving law to take effect. In 1966 he was appointed the first director of the newly created Home Office Central Research Laboratory, an organisation that under his enthusiastic guidance rapidly achieved worldwide recognition. He instigated quality control tests that did much to improve performance throughout the forensic science service and the interlaboratory committees he founded helped to raise standards.

He was promoted to Controller of the Forensic Science Service in 1976. His drive to raise and maintain standards was helped by appointing assistant directors to oversee standards. During his time as Controller he was called to advise many overseas governments on forensic science and served on many international committees. He retired in 1982. His worth was recognised internationally, being made an Honorary Fellow of the Royal College of Pathologists and awarded an Honorary Doctorate of the University of Ghent. He was the recipient of the Stas Gold Medal from the German Society of Forensic Toxicology and Forensic Chemistry, and the Doug Lucas Medal from the American Forensic Science Society. After his retirement he still took an active interest in TIAFT, attending many of its meetings.

If you wish to know more about Alan Curry's life and legend, please download: **Alan Curry, the scientist, the leader, the communicator** (2.5 Mbytes .pdf document).

For an obituary of Alan Curry please also see Hans Brandenburger's tribute in Forensic toxicology: https://core.ac.uk/download/pdf/159154305.pdf

ELIGIBILITY

The Alan Curry Award is bestowed upon toxicologists (TIAFT members) who have made significant contributions to forensic toxicology and are considered to be leading scientists in our discipline.

The recipient must be a TIAFT member and have been an active member of the Association. Current TIAFT Board members are ineligible to receive the TIAFT Alan Curry Award.

All submissions are made to the current President of TIAFT and must be made 30 days prior to the annual TIAFT conference.

NOMINATIONS

TIAFT members who have a long history of distinguished contributions to the field of forensic toxicology and to the TIAFT organization are eligible for the award.

A call for nominations is published in the TIAFT bulletin and closes 30 days before the annual TIAFT meeting. All members can nominate persons for the Alan Curry award by filling out the following form and sending it to the current TIAFT President. All nominations are treated confidentially. The Executive Board will select the awardee. The President will announce the winner of the Alan Curry Award at the annual TIAFT Meeting.

AWARD

TIAFT Alan Curry Award Handbook DATE EFFECTIVE: December 18, 2021 NEXT REVIEW DATE: December 2024

Version 2

The award consists of a memento engraved with the name of the award and the awardee's name, a certificate of achievement, and immediate change in TIAFT membership to Honorary Member of the organization.

PREVIOUS AWARDEES

1993	Neville Dunnett, UK	2008	Osamu Suzuki, Japan
1994	Takeaki Nagata, Japan	2009	Vina Spiehler, USA
1995	Irving Sunshine, USA	2010	Marilyn Huestis, USA
1997	Rokus A. de Zeeuw, The Netherlands	2011	Wayne Jones, Sweden
1999	Manfred Möller, Germany	2012	Erkki Vuori, Finland
2000	Gottfried Machata, Austria	2013	Anthony Moffatt, UK
2002	Brian Widdop, UK	2014	Willy Lambert, Belgium
2003	Hans Maurer, Germany	2015	Pascal Kintz, France
2004	Klaus Müller, Germany	2016	Olaf Drummer, Australia
2005	Robert Wennig, Luxembourg	2017	Bryan Finkle, USA
2006	Ed Cone, USA	2018	Alain Verstraete, Belgium
2007	Fritz Pragst, Germany	2019	Robert Flanagan, United Kingdom

TIAFT ALAN CURRY AWARD - NOMINATION FORM

Please insert the name of the TIAFT member being nominated:
Please insert your name as the nominating TIAFT member:
Date:
Information about the nominee:
The number of years the nominee has been a TIAFT Member:
Date of Joining TIAFT:
Please list main contributions to analytical and forensic toxicology:
What is the nominees Hirsch index?
List their 5 most important publications (peer-reviewed articles or books):
Please list their significant contributions to TIAFT:
If known, please share the number of TIAFT annual meetings the nominee has attended:
Please list other special considerations in support of the nomination:

TIAFT Alan Curry Award Handbook DATE EFFECTIVE: December 18, 2021 NEXT REVIEW DATE: December 2024 Version 2

Please list peer-reviewed Pubmed-listed papers:
Appendices (if any, e.g. CV of the nominee, LinkedIn profile etc.):
Appendices (if any, e.g. CV of the nominee, LinkedIn profile etc.).
Please list of peer-reviewed Pubmed-listed papers: